Mango Mousse

 
This is my very first post and i am a bit apprehensive  
 
Mango is my favorite fruit , my son can eat anything with mango in it . Being an Indian I am in love with the Indian Alphonso mangoes , some of my friends ask me how do we buy mangoes all I have to say is smell them if they have a sweet fragrance that is what you wanna get . The other day my hubby had  gone for a conference to Hilton when he came back he was telling me about this fantastic mango mousse he had there . I was looking for a recipe when I came across one on BBC by Anjum Anand which I then altered to make it easy for me . It is light and refreshing dessert and very easy to make.

Image

Less than 20 mins preparation time

Over 4- 6 hours setting time

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 2 large Alphonso mangoes, stones and skins removed, flesh chopped (about 450g mango flesh, frozen or canned mango pulp can also be use)
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 100g sugar
  • egg whites, whisked until stiff peaks form when the whisk is removed
  • 180ml double cream, whipped until soft peaks form when the whisk is removed

Preparation method

  1. Blend the mango flesh to a purée in a food processor. add sugar and blend again. Stir in the lime juice.
  2. Fold one third of the whipped cream into the mango mixture until well combined.
  3. Add the remaining whipped cream and the egg white mixture and gently fold the into the mango mixture until well combined
  4. Spoon the mousse in individual serving glasses or a large serving dish and keep in the refrigrator for 4-6 hours to set

Image 

6 thoughts on “Mango Mousse

Leave a Reply

